What’s Pinterest’s secret?

by thefullnoise

Pinterest is really, well… Interesting to me at the moment.

They seem to be doing what many of the larger social media services (bar Facebook) have struggled to do… Get average Internet users onboard!

By average users, I’m talking about my wife, my Mum, sister inlaw(s) and plenty of others who have had no interest in Twitter, Tumblr, Posterous, Google+ or any other Social media. And yeah, notice they are all woman?

I’m picking they are getting hooked on Pinterest because it is so visual. It’s the closest service I’ve seen to a woman’s magazine.

And it’s easy.

In fact my wife said “it’s like making my own magazine of cool things

“… Plus people get to see how cool I am.”

This is looking like a huge opportunity for this in fashion or popular culture markets. Bloggers are reporting massive traffic and growth from Pinterest.
Check out this great case study: http://www.businessesgrow.com/2012/01/23/pinterest-drives-enormous-blog-and-b…

Are you using Pinterest for fun or marketing?

