New Facebook camera app – first impressions

by thefullnoise

And yet another Facebook app is realised for iOS.

After the release of the ‘Pages‘ app in the last few days, this most recent app came as a bit of a supirse for me at least. Obviously it has been in the works for quite some time and is in no small part related to the aqquisition of Instagram.

I personally think the Instagram purchase was a defensive move more than anything.

So how is the app?

Fisrt impressions – It’s good. It seems to have had more thought go into it than any of the other Facebook apps.

I was a little suprised for some reason to open straight into a stream of all the photo’s from my personal facebook feed. I{‘m not sure what I was expecting exactly, but probably the camera or camera roll, ready to upload my own pic to FB.

That said It ss very familiar to a user of other social photo apps like Instagram, picplz or even the Tumblr app.

The feed easily slides down to reveal your camera roll and the option to take a shot with your camera and upload. I’m impressed with the ability to select multiple images to add to one post and crop and add a filter to each image on the fly.

The filter functionality is nice and simple, very similar to instagram though with less dramatic filters at this stage.

Final thoughts

I’m imporessed with this first offering, and I think it is their best app so far.

I am however seriously wondering about the fragmentaion of Facebook on iOS with all the new apps available. It is getting hard to know which one to use when. I’ll be interested to talk to users to see how this pans out.

